Tags

, , ,

I was in the hospital for almost 3 weeks.  I figured I’d end up staying there till I delivered.  The baby, who wasn’t even born yet, had her own high risk doctor, neonatologist and a cardiologist.  I had my own cardiologist too.  Every morning around 6:00 a.m. I had an EKG preformed and every other day the baby had either an echocardiogram or an ultrasound.  It took 2 1/2 weeks of trial and error with three different drugs before the baby’s heart finally converted to a normal rhythm.  When I was finally discharged I had to continue taking one of the drugs just in case.  That’s ok!!  I didn’t mind taking the medicine as long as my baby was doing well!

I had 20+ nurses during my stay at the hospital, and I really liked all of them.  One of my nurses, a super cute little thing, told us something amazing one afternoon.  She said at this hospital she has seen a lot of special situations.  They deliver something like 900 babies a month and she has never known of another situation like ours!  Everyone knew who we were and would gather around our monitor behind the nurses station to watch how my baby “traced”.  Tracing is the reading from the toco monitor and heart monitor strapped to my belly.  My baby’s tracing line was broken and inconsistent and they hadn’t ever seen that.

017The blue box indicates a normal baby’s heart rate.  That’s the 120-160 bpm range.  At this time my baby’s heart rate was between 180-240 bpm.  Not normal.

In addition to what the nurse said, one weekend the on-call pedi-cardiologist was telling us how rare this was and not to be surprised if there are journals and studies written about my baby after this.  All we wanted was a healthy baby.  That’s it.  The doctors told us there was no typical protocol for this treatment because it was so rare.  So, all I could do now is continue to take the medicine and hope that my baby stays in normal rhythm after she’s born.

